Design for Six Sigma

Design for Six Sigma (DFSS)

Difference Six Sigma and Design for Six Sigma (DFSS)
Design for Six Sigma (DFSS) is a product development methodology that helps developers develop competitive products or processes.
While classic Six Sigma is a reactive method for improving existing processes, Design for Six Sigma aims to make products and processes error-free right from the start. The procedure can be classified as a methodology of both product development and quality management.
Design for Six Sigma is thus a key success factor in the development of the right design of design and process. 


The DFSS-Logic: DMADV and IDOV
As with a traditional Six Sigma project, DFSS projects follow a systematic and logical sequence of steps. Design for Six Sigma projects follow the DMADV (Define - Measure - Analysis - Design - Verify) or IDOV (Identify - Design - Optimize - Verify) process.
 
Identify Phase
Scope and objectives of the development project are defined in the Define phase. Great emphasis is placed on raising the customer's requirements, understanding them and deriving clear requirements. The tools used here are Voice of the Customer (VOC), Requirements Development and Quality Function Deployment (QFD). 
Design Phase
In the design phase, different concepts are developed in the team (use of creativity techniques such as TRIZ) and systematically evaluated and selected (e.g. using Pugh Matrix).
Optimize Phase
In the Optimize phase, the selected concept is preventively optimized. Using statistical methods, data are analyzed, the relevant factors are identified by means of the Ishikawa diagram, and physical interactions are formulated. Subsequently, these are examined or confirmed by means of specific experiments (DOE) or simulations. Taking into account aspects of freedom from errors (FMEA), reliability (Design for Reliability) and robustness (Robust Design), the design parameters are finally determined. At the same time, the manufacturing process is defined at this stage. One tool used for this purpose is DFMA - Design for Manufacturing and Assembly. 
Verify Phase
In the Verfiy phase the efficiency of design and process is checked. Lifetime tests and process capability analyzes are used as tools here.
 
Design for Six Sigma (DFSS) Training
As absolute experts in this field, we train you to become a state-recognized Six Sigma Green Belt or Six Sigma Black Belt. In the case of Six Sigma courses, the focus is on the application in a specific project by each participant, which guarantees not only sound training but also proven benefits for your company at the same time. Practical exercises train Design for Six Sigma tools and ensure successful application in the company.

Design for Six Sigma

Design for Six Sigma (DFSS)

Unterschied Six Sigma und Design for Six Sigma (DFSS)


Design for Six Sigma (DFSS) steht für eine Methodik in der Produktentwicklung, die dem Entwickler helfen, wettbewerbsfähige Produkte bzw. Prozesse zu entwickeln.
Während klassisches Six Sigma eine reaktive Methode zur Verbesserung von bestehenden Prozessen ist, hat Design for Six Sigma das Ziel Produkte und Prozesse von Anfang an fehlerfrei zu gestalten. Die Vorgehensweise ist als Methodik sowohl der Produktentwicklung als auch dem Qualitätsmanagements einzuordnen.
Design for Six Sigma ist somit ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor in der Entwicklung zur richtigen Gestaltung von Design und Prozess. 

 

Die DFSS-Logik: DMADV und IDOV


Ebenso wie bei herkömmlichen Six Sigma Projekt, folgen DFSS Projekte einer systematischen und logischen Abfolge von Schritten. Design for Six Sigma folgen dem DMADV oder IDOV Prozess. Ein beliebter DFSS-Ablauf ist DMADV (Define - Measure - Analyse - Design - Verify).
Umfang und die Ziele des Entwicklungsprojektes werden in der Define Phase festgelegt.
Anschließend ist es Ziel der Measure Phase die Anforderungen der Kunden zu erheben. Als Werkzeuge werden hier Voice of the Customer (VOC) und Quality Function Deployment (QFD) eingesetzt. Man möchte damit sicherstellen, das richtige Produkte zu entwickeln.  

In der Analyse Phase werden mit statistischen Methoden die gesammelten Daten analysiert. Dabei werden mittels Ishikawa-Diagramm die relevanten Einflussfaktoren identifiziert und physikalische Wirkzusammenhänge formuliert. Anschließend werden diese mittels gezielten Experimenten (DOE) oder Simulationen näher untersucht.
Die konkrete Gestaltung der Produktmerkmale erfolgt in der Design Phase. Dabei werden unter Berücksichtigung von Aspekten der Zuverlässigkeit (Design for Reliability) und der Robustheit (Robust Design) die Designparameter festgelegt. Parallel dazu werden in dieser Phase der Herstellungsprozess definiert. Ein zu diesem Zweck eingesetztes Werkzeug ist DFMA - Design for Manufacturing and Assembly. 

Verfiy - die Leistungsfähigkeit von Design und Prozess wird überprüft. Lebensdauertests und Prozessfähigkeitsanalysen finden hier als Werkzeuge Anwendung.
Eine weitere beliebte DFSS-Logik ist IDOV (Identify - Design - Optimize - Verify). Sinngemäß werden hier die oben genannten Schritte und Werkzeuge ausgeführt.
 
 

Design for Six Sigma (DFSS) Ausbildung und Training
 
Als absolute Experten auf diesem Gebiet bilden wir Sie zum staatliche anerkannten Six Sigma Green Belt bzw. Six Sigma Black Belt aus. Im Vordergrund steht, wie auch bei Six Sigma Lehrgängen, die Anwendung in einem konkreten Projekt durch jeden Teilnehmer, was Ihnen neben der fundierten Ausbildung zeitgleich einen nachweislichen Nutzen für Ihr Unternehmen garantiert. Mit praxisnahen Übungen werden Design for Six Sigma Werkzeuge trainiert und die erfolgreiche Anwendung im Unternehmen sichergestellt.